“Star Trek” Honored With Special Emmy Award

Star Trek Gets Special Emmy Award Left to right — Farrell, Park, Martin-Green, Ryan, Burton and Koenig

The Television Academy recently honored “Star Trek” with its prestigious ‘2018 Governors Award,’ given in recognition of “the visionary science-fiction television franchise and its legacy of boldly propelling science, society and culture where no one has gone before.” The Academy also noted that the franchise has picked up 30 Emmy Awards over the years, and that it has also been responsible for a number of technological innovations in television production, especially in visual and special effects.

Although “Star Trek: Discovery” lost its two bids for Emmys this year, the Creative Arts Emmy Award ceremony did host a very nice tribute to the franchise, led by Bill Nye (the Science Guy), who said that “Star Trek” “may have started off as an entertainment series, but it changed the world — and I feel that it changed the world for the better.”

Captain James Kirk himself, William Shatner, led a star-studded delegation that included fellow actors Walter Koenig, LeVar Burton, Terry Farrell, Jeri Ryan, Linda Park and Sonequa Martin-Green. After a standing ovation, Shatner said “I accept this award on behalf of all the artists who worked to make the show a success.”

Video of the tribute can be found on both Trekmovie.com and YouTube.

#Park #Burton #Koenig #Emmy #Ryan #Farrell #StarTrek #enemies #MartinGreen